Rahman Abbas to open Yuva Sahitya Sammelan

Naresh Naik bags Yuva Sahitya Puraskar

Rahaman Abbas, a Ratnagari-born young Urdu and English novelist from Maharashtra, will inaugurate the 22nd Konkani Yuva Sahitya Sammelan on Friday, 17 March 2023 at 10 am. 

The two-day annual literary event of students and youth initiated by Goa Konkani Academy would be organised and held at Dnyanprasarak Mandal’s College at Assagao. 

Naresh Naik, the Assistant Professor teaching Konkani at Goa University and a young writer hailing from Canacona, would be awarded at the inaugural function, the prestigious ‘Yuva Sahitya Puraskar’, instituted in memory of Meghashyam Naik. 

Marcose Gonsalves, 46-year-old writer, dramatist and journalist, has been chosen to be the President of the 22nd Konkani Yuva Sahitya Sammelan.

The inaugural function would also be graced by Mr Shrikrishna Pokle, Chairman of Dnyanprasarak Mandal. Principal Bhaskar Naya, former Director of Higher Education, would be the Chief Guest at the concluding ceremony on the second day. 

Dr Dilip Arolkar, Principal of the DMC College is the Reception Committee Chairman while Mr Purushottam Verlekar, assistant professor in Geology and a young writer, is the Working Chairman.

Mr Arun Sakhardande, Chairman of Goa Konkani Academy as well as Mr Vasant Bhagwant Sawant, Vice Chairman of the GKA would also grace the occasion.

About Mr Rehaman

Mr Rahaman is a major contemporary Indian novelist and a recipient of the national Sahitya Akademi award for his fourth novel ‘Rohzin’ in 2018. He has also bagged thrice the state Sahitya Akademi awards of Maharashtra. He is the only Indian novelist whose work in German has received a LitProm Grant funded by the German Federal Foreign Office and the Swiss-South Cultural Fund.

Mr Rahaman has penned down nine books, including five novels. His award-winning Urdu novel ‘Rohzin’ has been translated into German, English and Hindi. 


The whole literary campus at Assagao plateau is named after Goa’s veteran Konkani writer late Nagesh Karmali while the main Pandal has been named after veteran Konkani leader Nayarayan Mauzo.

Other stages and halls have also been named after DMC’s ex-professor and Konkani writer Edward D’Lima, Prakash Padgaonkar, Jaymala Danayat, Rajani Bhembre, and Revansidh Naik. 

Book Releases of Young Writers

At the inaugural function, GKA would also release a poetry collection of a young writer Supriya Kankonkar and ‘Yuvankur’, a collection of prize-winning literary works from last year’s Sammelan.

Two Veterans on ‘Padver’

Following this, a unique programme ‘Padver’ would be held, where young writers Sanvi Kahndeparkaar and Gaurang Bhandiye would interview two veteran Goan writers, Mr Datta Damodar Naik and Ms Nutan Sakhardande.

The Yuva Sahitya Puraskar awardee Mr Naresh Naik would also be interviewed by Mr Gorakh Shirsat, another young writer.

Datta Damodar Naik & Nutan Sakhardande


Keynote & Workshops

Mr Dinesh Manerkar, a writer and publisher, would deliver a keynote address, which would be followed by workshops for the delegates in the fields of Poetry, Short-Story, Blogging and Children’s Literature. 

Goa’s eminent writers would guide the student and youth delegates at these workshops, including Ms Hema Naik, Ms Meena Kakodkar, Ms Radha Bhave, Mr Narayan Mahale, Fr Luis Gomes, Ms Ratnamala Diukar, Mr Ramesh Ghadi, Mr Gopinath Gawas, Mr Chetan Acharya, Mr Subhash Kamalkar, Ms Anwesha Singbal and Mr Yugank Naik. 

A Poets’ Meet would be yet another attraction of the literary meet, which would be chaired by Goa’s eminent poet Mr Dilip Dhargalkar. This would be followed by cultural programmes by the local artists. 

Around 200 students and youth from all across Goa are expected to attend the Sammelan as delegates, besides other veteran writers, teachers, young writers and students. 


FRI, 17 MARCH 2023

10.00 AM Inaugural  Chief Guest: Mr Rahaman Abbas

President: Mr Marcos Gonsalves

Guest of Honour: Mr Shrikrishna Pokle

12.45 AM Chat with Yuva Sahitya Awardee Awardee: Mr Naresh Naik

Interview by: Mr Gorakh Shirsat

2.30 PM Padver Veterans:

Mr Datta Damodar Naik

Ms Nutarn Sakhardande

Interview by: Sanvi Khandeparkar & Gaurang Bhandiye

4.00 PM Keynote Address Mr Dinesh Manerkar
4.30 PM Poets’ Meeet Chaired by: Mr Dilip Dhargalkar
6.00 PM Cultural Programmes

SAT, 18 MARCH 2023

9.30 AM Workshops Poetry * Short-Story * Blogging * Children’s Literature
2.30 PM Concluding Ceremony Chief Guest: Pri. Bhaskar Nayak

President: Mr Marco Gonsalves

Presiding: Mr Vasant Bhagwant Sawant

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *